Authors I really like

As I’ve been updating my GoodReads lists with the books from Kindle that I have already read or intend to read, I decided to take a quick look at my shelves where I keep the books I liked the most. I read paperbacks mostly in bed at night and Kindle books on the move.

I don’t keep all the paperbacks/hardcopy books  I read – in fact we recently gave some 100 odd books to charity – I had a grand clear out! and I also archive a great number of the kindle books if I don’t intend to read more in that particular series.

I am a real book worm and am often reading two or more books at once – one for my bookclub and one for me. And that doesn’t include the Kindle book against the paperback!

The bookclub books are very varied, which is why I go – to be challenged outside my norm and we read anything from Austen to Hossein and some non-fiction too – in fact we recently read Running with Fire: the True Story of Harold Abrahams by Mark Ryan. It was interesting to a point. As I write academic articles and books myself and until very recently was a journal editor, I can be rather critical of other people’s writing. I don’t like what I call red-top phrasing and word usage. I also like writing to be to the point and concise and find that many books, like this one, could do with a sharp editing pencil… if it had been at least 25% shorter it would have been improved. I do get why the author went into all the statistics and so on but really some could have been in an appendix. The problem was that the author was apparently a sports writer and this was his first full length book. Maybe a man would have like this book better, unfortunately we are all women in the group at the moment. We chose it because it was Olympic themed and so seemed appropriate for this summer. The next book we will be reading was my choice – well I put forward a choice of four, and the group chose to go with Bits of Me are Falling Apart. We shall see how that goes.

Anyway, back to my book shelves. Below is a list of my most common and thus most favourite authors – they are shelved alphabetically… I do try and read series in order but sometimes get them wrong.. which is annoying of course! And if I like a book I will try and buy more by that author. (I’ve added some oddities at the end of the list where I’ve read the books but don’t read everyday.) So here goes:

  • David Baldacci
  • Simon Beckett
  • Sandra Brown
  • Harlan Coben
  • Michael Connelly
  • Jeffrey Deaver
  • Clare Francis
  • Tana French
  • Philip Friedman
  • Gerritsen
  • Sue Grafton
  • Erin Hart
  • Mandasue Heller
  • Lynn Hightower
  • Tami Hoag
  • Mo Hayder
  • Lesley Horton
  • Peter James
  • Dylan Jones
  • Kellerman – all of them…
  • Lawton
  • Leather
  • McDermid
  • JD Robb
  • KAren Rose
  • Erica Spindler
  • Reichs
  • Patterson – even most of the joint authored ones
  • Diana Gabaldon
  • Han Suyin
  • Stephen White
  • Edward Rutherfurd
  • Colin Thubron
  • DH Lawrence
  • Khaled Hossein
  • John Simpson
  • Anne McCaffrey
  • Dickens
  • Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

