Emailing Allie by Julia Lawson: Office Gossip

Chick Lit

Chick Lit (Photo credit: Timberland Regional Library)

Definite chicklit with a very interesting format as the whole book is written as email exchanges between the characters during office hours. Thus if action happens at the weekends or evenings, the only way we hear about it from the emails and then one sided views of course. There is no other explanatory prose at all.

This is the first time I have read a book in this format and I found that once I got used to it, I really enjoyed it and you became surprisingly cognizant of who and what the characters were this way without any real physical descriptions.

The emails are somewhere between one or two lines and one page long and the story gradually emerges in the characters words ad their interchanges with various people that they work with or who use their work emails to contact them.

Slowly you fall into empathy with Allie and long for things to go right for her  – but disaster seems to follow her simplest actions. I also found the phrasing amusing and often recognised myself or people I knew in the actions of the characters and giggled.. a feel good book for sure.

It is a 2012 publication and it is very ‘now’ in what happens to the characters and their feelings and feels very much of the moment. It reminds me of the type of emails I used to get when I was in a large office – and I always remember Friday afternoon pinging time – when the emails flew around asking who was going to the pub? who had what plans for the weekend? and so on… my work emails are far from as exciting now and we rarely share personal stuff in them. Maybe it is because we are now all very aware that emails are the stuff of legal nightmares and can never really be deleted…

Do I recommend you read it? Yes. Emphatically, especially if you are feeling a bit down and need a duvet day – this will not get you out of bed as you’ll stay there reading it, but at least you’ll enjoy your time there!

Leave a Reply

