How to be a Woman: childbirth, knickers, and high heels

Caitlin Moran with Annie Mac

Caitlin Moran with Annie Mac (Photo credit: radio1interactive)

3 stars

bookshelves: book-buddypersonal-challenge100

Read from March 07 to 11, 2013

Caitlin Moran: How to be a Woman

I read this as book buddy threesome and this was on one of their ‘to-read’ lists. This was a book that set out to shock but also gave a very raw account of Caitlin Moran’s early life and family upbringing and their extreme poverty. In that way it certainly shocked. Some chapters were good, some were not, so a bit of a mixed bag. I only really laughed at one chapter – the one on child-birth, as I totally got that one and she nailed the emotions very well. Also the one on knickers – that resonated too as one brought up when clothes were very expensive – even underwear, and we certainly had to make things last!
Would I recommend it? Well, if you aren’t a feminist then you need to read it to find out why you should be. if you are, then you probably can skip some chapters. If you are thinking of having a baby then do read about her experience of childbirth – but don’t let it put you off…If you can’t see the reason for why we need abortion on demand then skip that chapter… Perhaps there is a chapter for everyone, and at least one chapter everyone could skip? Or perhaps we should read them all to ensure we get it all? You decide…
I’ve linked to a couple of other reviews too so you can see other people’s reactions.
8 thoughts on “How to be a Woman: childbirth, knickers, and high heels

    1. ukgardenfiend Post author

      Dear Danaiana
      thank you so much for this Dragon’s Loyalty Award. I much appreciate it when people nominate me as it shows I must be doing something right! Just let me know what the rules are and if there is a meme (award picture) that I should post and I’ll see what I can do. A nice thing to hear about first thing in the morning on a very cold day … 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Monday Musings | Doing Dewey

    1. ukgardenfiend Post author

      I do hope that they don’t skip this chapter though – as you say, reading can help us out of our comfort zones and challenge us and our current (lazy?) thinking…

      Like

      Reply
  2. DoingDewey

    I loved all of this one, but you could be right that not all of it is for everyone. I suppose it depends on how much someone wants to get out of their comfort zone. Honestly, as a scientist, I sometimes avoid popular science books because I’m so tired of people demonizing science to sell sensational books. At the same time, they sometimes make good points and it’s good to consider alternate viewpoints. For someone who was anti-abortion, I think the decision whether or not to read Caitlin Moran’s chapter on abortion might be similar.

    Like

    Reply
    1. ukgardenfiend Post author

      I agree on reading about alternate viewpoints which was why I read all the chapters, but as I know that a lot of people who blog on WordPress are quite religious, it is worth warning them – as some might be a bit shocked by some of the language used too… Abortion is a very difficult topic I think as people who have not experienced it may have views that are extreme or may not truly understand what drives women to it. The fact that it is a common choice of contraception in some countries is often difficult to comprehend. So perhaps reading about a person’s experience and reasons is a worthwhile exercise? even if it makes uncomfortable reading?

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

