Only 1 Veil to take off! Angels and Dark Wings?

September saw me go into hospital for 5 days for another knee replacement and so I have had plenty of time to read, especially as I have had trouble sleeping and thus my nights have been a combination of meditation, reading, listening to music, watching Netflix, occasional news reading – especially the night of the Scottish Referendum where I sat and watched TV and read the BBC news online for quite a lot of time, and finally also trying hypnosis. Since all these combined have left me still largely unable to sleep, I am taking the advice of a friend and not worrying about it, but using the time to rest and recuperate and do whatever suits me in the night. In addition, during the day too as I am still not going outside the house without a companion and even then not walking far… however, I have hit the Green Light for stage of recuperation – apparently even the disturbed nights are OK!

However, with a brain rather scrambled from the drugs I have been given I have not really managed to type up my reviews or undertake any blogging – but I hope to catch up as I am ‘on the sick’ until early November, walking every day to build distance but only general bending and strengthening exercises apart from that; so I am going to do my usual and write a combined set of reviews. Not in any sort of order or reading however. I have reviewed these on Netgalley and /or Goodreads – ‘Unborn’ being the main other book to consider here.

Beyond The Veil

Christi Snow : 3.75 stars.

This about an innovative idea of what could happen if Gaia got annoyed with humans and their destruction of her environment.

The concept of the loss of all adults is interesting because it enables the children to discover for themselves what is useful from their parents’ lives and what is not. It also enables the children to develop very differently. So a philosophical problem area. I am masking the assumption here that adulthood started at 18 years of age but this was not clarified.

The Veil is a physical feature that divides the US in two, and reforms their coastlines – there is an assumption that it goes throughout the world but again this is not clarified. The Veil comes up from what used to be the Californian plate fault in the US. In one half of the country a civilisation is developed on an eco-friendly line with farming and small communities and herbs etc for healing although it is clear that some of the remnants of the previous era was used through reading the books left behind to assist in building and medicine.

In this civilisation, the children develop some unusual physical features and mental abilities. The climate is maintained as a temperate rain forest by a layer of mist and this enables the men to develop not only serious muscle power but also a lack of shirts. Leaving lots for females to drool over… if your imagination can supply the images that is.

The contrasting civilisation on the other side of the Veil develops with greater technology and political power broking was early in development amongst these youngsters. Some people developed extra mental or physical capabilities as they grew up but in this civilisation it was a minority and they were termed ‘others’ and not embraced by the mainstream population. This gave the impression of a Fascist style of government whereas the other civilisation was more communal.

This book is the first of a planned series of 7 (!!) all of which have titles and presumably the author already knows the main plot lines. I shall follow the series with interest.

However, I did find the writing a little slow at times and the story-lines could have been more complex even as we are introduced to the ideas behind the plot.

Unborn

Amber Lynn Natusch 2 stars from me.

Now I started reading this but only got about a quarter of the way through.
An interesting twist on the Persephone and Demeter story in this novel with the ‘Unborn’ being the foster daughter of Hades and in some way a Demeter replacement.
However, I got bored.
There is a current set of novels with twists on the dark angels; wars in Heaven and Hell ongoing; and variations of this theme, which to me, seem to go nowhere fast. This is clearly not the genre for me – at least not in the way this novel approaches it.

Leave a Reply

