Knit yourself Sane: connections and meditations

Whenever I would take up the needles, I would feel myself connected not only to my own mother, grandmother, and great grandmother, but also to the many women who lived centuries before me, the women who had developed the craft, the women who had known, as I did, the incredible satisfaction and sense of serenity that could come from the steady rhythmic click-click-click of one’s knitting needles.

These women had experienced the meditative and peaceful quality that overcomes one’s mind while knitting; they understood the way that one’s thoughts etc worked into one’s knitting, discovering, as I did, that whatever I was thinking about when last I worked on a piece would immediately spring back into my mind when I picked up the work again later on, as though knitting were a sort of mental tape-recorder.

Debbie Stoller

Stitch ‘N Bitch: The Knitter’s Handbook

as in p165 Keep Calm and Cast On

cast on

Leave a Reply

