‘Won’t you come into my garden? I would like my roses to see you.’

Said  Richard Brinsley Sheridan.

I thought I would share some lines / poetry about roses with you from a lovely book of Garden Quotations by Maria Robbins; and some from my Oxford Book of Quotations – a very large bible sized book with all sorts in there. there were no quotes in my book of humourous quotations though specifically about Roses.

Oh and  by the way, all the photos come from the roses in our garden…

‘The cowslip is a country wench,

The violet is a nun:-

But I will woo the dainty rose,

The queen of every one.’

Thomas Hood

woolies red rose

Red Rose, proud rose, sad rose of all my days!

Come near me while I sing the ancient ways.’

W.B.Yeats

 

‘Rose is a rose is a rose is a rose’

Gertrude Stein

 

There is no gathering the rose without being pricked by the thorns.

Bidalpi

rhapsody in blue and bee

‘My roses are my jewels, the sun

And moon my clocks, fruit and

Water my food and drink’.

Hester Lucy Stanhope

 

 A rose is sweeter in the bud than full blown’.

John Lyly

imperial rose

Red roses unfurl.

In their calices burns the pearl.

Sister Bertken

 And she was fayr as the rose in May

Chaucer

Go, lovely rose!

Tell her, that wastes her time and me,

That now she knows,

When I resemble her to thee,

How sweet and fair she seems to be.

Edmund Waller

rose 2011 may

 

Leave a Reply

