Bones, Bones, Bones again, and then more Bones!

NOT (!) a NetGalley Review but just book reviews for Kathy Reichs

Yes, I’ve just had a four-fold fest of Kathy Reichs.

I haven’t read her for a while and when I found a great second-hand bookshop and one of her books, I started reading paperbacks again…

I have read every Kathy Reichs book in sequence and was very glad to find that the paperback I had picked up was the next one on for me to read (even though I was now 4 behind!). I have never yet failed to be fascinated with Tempe  Brennan and her complicated emotional life, and horrified by her job and the dreadful crimes that are committed in these books.

Once I started with ‘Bones of the Lost’ I was hooked again and remembered why her books were best sellers (the TV series is not really related at all and I have given up thinking it ever might be). However I do have a very philosophical question to ask of the world of books – ‘Why, whenever I read a crime novel over my cereal in the morning, do I always come to the section about the grisly murder, horrible torture or morgue scenes, especially autopsies or dissections or descriptions of body parts found scattered and how the brain matter is splattered across walls?’  With all the gory details included and spelled out in full? Especially for a person such as me who hides their eyes when surgery comes on TV?

Watch Dem Bones on YouTube:

I loved all four of these books equally but the last book – Speaking in Bones –  is perhaps not as new in its ‘crime’ as the others. The outlawed priest and exorcisms and the ghastly outcomes are perhaps old territory as is the psychological illness of one of the main characters (I won’t say who,  as this will spoil it for you) and what happens as a result is again not new. I felt that this last read book lacked some of the tension of the previous ones and I did get rather annoyed with Tempe and her emotions and impulsive behaviour which, having lived through all that she had, you would have thought she had grown out of. Rather childish in many ways and her agonising got on my nerves a bit… but all’s well that ends well and she did survive for another story to be written about her!

So 4 star for all books again.

I look forward to the next one – perhaps next year?

 

Leave a Reply

