Kirsten Campbell speaks: Blood Mastery tells

BLOOD MASTER BANNER

Kirsten Campbell speaks:Author Kirsten Campbell 2015 pic

Questions for Kirsten Campbell/ Author of Blood Master – Book 1 of The G.O.D.s Series

Can you tell your readers something about why you chose this particular topic to write about? What appealed to you about it? Why do you think it is different and your approach is unique?

I write Urban Paranormal because I love the genre. Blood Master – Book 1 of The G.O.D.s Series is the first book in a series of four. I love the fantastic element of Urban Paranormal fiction and the fact that to me, its reality based. There has to be some type of fact in fiction or it just doesn’t hold up well and the story can seem fake deeming things within the story realm false. My approach to the subject is unique because I look at our modern technology and I try to go a step forward into a dystopian future with hopes that things fare positively for my characters.

How long do you think about a topic before deciding to write about it? Do you have a set of notes or a note book where you write down topics that appeal before making a decision as to which topic this time?

Yes, actually I do think long and hard about a topic before I decide to write. It can be days or even weeks before I actually put things on paper. I have several notebooks and I even type out scenarios with hope that I can flesh out scenes for a book before the actual writing of the book.

How long does it take to research a topic before you write? And for this book?

I write my book and then I research, and then fix whatever needs to be fixed. I write chapters as scenes and then I go in and research later. There are four books in the G.O.D.s Series. Each book is different. I had to research all types of things for Blood Master. I researched all types of theories about telepathy, empathy, gods, vampires, meditation, teleportation, inter-dimensional doors, quarks, string theory, and even researched how the body reactions to pain and to being burned, glass blowing, and the creation of diamonds. I even researched earthquakes, tremors and studied building plans for different buildings to figure out how I wanted the fortress and the Guild Faction Main Office to look and figure out the different type of furniture and walls and interiors. There was so much research for the first book but it carries over into the second, third and fourth, so there is no way to be sure how much research I did.

  1. What resources do you use? In general and for the last book that you wrote?

I used the internet, an line encyclopaedia, the library and my phone, for Blood Master.

  1. How helpful do you find authority figures such as the police when you say you want to write about them? Is there a good way to approach them in your experience?

Not applicable

  1. How many times have you been rejected before your first novel was accepted or before this book was accepted?

I self-published Blood Master, but it’s based on a short story that was published in Bewildering Stories in 2010. The story was called Dark Matters and it was about an alien, Dinn Russ Jarrin, (a G.O.D., a Genetically-enhanced Omni Dimensional being, my protagonist, Griffin Storm of Blood Master is a G.O.D.) Dinn Russ Jarrin goes up against a six-year-old little boy. It’s a battle of wits and there is a surprise ending.

  1. Did you need to self-publish on e-books before a publisher took you up?

No. I have had pieces published and I was a co-author of an anthology that went to International best seller this September. (Chocolate & Diamonds for the Woman’s Soul).

 Would you recommend self-publishing and building an audience before approaching a publisher? If so, what benefits do you see that it might have for the aspiring novelist?

If that’s the route you want to take. I believe everyone has a journey and it’s up to the individual to choose what’s best for them. 

  1. What is the funniest thing that happened to you on a book tour?

I haven’t had anything funny happen yet, but when I do I will surely let you know!

Thanks Kirsten, we look forward to hearing about it! and tomorrow I shall post more about the book.. so keep reading!

Leave a Reply

