Walk the Streets of San Francisco Again

The Last Good Place

By

Robin Burcell

 A NetGalley Review

Streets of SanFran again – foggy and hilly and full of crime.

This is an updated version of the original series about The Streets of San Francisco, written by a new author but with the same concept behind – taking over the work.

At first I was not sure if I liked the book – it seemed to me to not quite have the same story-telling ability and characterisation of the original but as I read on I became more convinced by it.

I realised that in fact the plot was complex and the characters became more real and believable especially ‘College Boy’ with his simplistic ideas that gradually get eroded by true crime and criminal behaviours and motivations.

I so remember the fog in San Francisco when I visited and also the Presidio with its wooded heights and can believe that it would be a good spot for a murder early in the morning.

Would I read more of this series? Probably not. There are better crime writers in my opinion and it doesn’t really have the tension makes you want to find out what is over the page and carry on reading into the small hours.

3 stars

 

Leave a Reply

